## For Distribution to CPs

## **Press Complaints Commission**

From the Director

22 February 2006

Ian Beales OBE
Secretary to the Code of Practice Committee
PO Box 235
Stonehouse
GL10 3UF

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission Matti Alderson Roger Alton Professor The Lord Chan **Edmund Curran** Paul Dacre Jane Ennis Mary Francis CBE Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Paul Horrocks Adam Phillips Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson CBE Derek Tucker The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB

> Director Tim Toulmin

Ver la

## **Annual Code of Practice Review**

The Commission recently discussed the annual review of the Code of Practice. There were two comments from individual Commissioners which I undertook to pass on to the Committee for its consideration.

One member correctly said that those of us who take part in the Commission's Open Days around the country are struck by the number of times that the issue of suicide arises. It also crops up during our roundtable lunches that we have from time to time with interested parties. The concerns are about whether, in publishing excessive detail of the means by which someone has killed themselves, newspapers and magazines may in fact contribute to the likelihood of copycat suicides. Those who have raised it with us have pointed out to the research that has taken place into this subject – with which I believe the Committee is familiar – and to the fact that it is commonplace for voluntary Codes in other Western European countries to refer to the matter.

The other point was made by a Commissioner concerned to ensure that members of the public are aware that the Code extends to headlines. A proposed revision to Clause 1 (i) is to include the words 'and headlines' after the words 'including pictures'.

With kind regards.

Tim Toulmin

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355

Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 e.mail: complaints@pcc.org.uk website: www.pcc.org.uk

11/

