Press Complaints Commission

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission Matti Alderson Roger Alton Professor The Lord Chan **Edmund Curran** Paul Dacre Jane Ennis Mary Francis Dr. Arthur Hearnden Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Paul Horrocks Charles McGhee

The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Director Tim Toulmin

Adam Phillips

Eve Salomon

From the Director

7 February 2005

Ian Beales Esq OBE Secretary, Code of Practice Committee PO Box 235 Stonehouse GL10 3UF

Charter Compliance Panel recommendation

I am just writing following a recommendation from the Charter Compliance Panel, which is concerned that some editors are not highlighting to people who complain to them directly that the PCC exists. Its annual report - to be published within the next few weeks – will include the following recommendation:

"Unlike many other complaints schemes, a complainant whose complaint is rejected by the newspaper is not necessarily told about the PCC, and its time limits for complaints. We suggest that the Code Committee might seek the agreement of editors to making this a standard practice, together with regular slots in their newspapers giving basic information about contacting the PCC".

The report was received by the Commission at its meeting on the 2nd February. Sir Christopher Meyer agreed to pass it to you so that the Code Committee could consider whether this is something that could be incorporated into the Code. The Commission regarded it as a development that could only strengthen the position and credibility of self-regulation, but it is of course a matter for the Code Committee.

I look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards.

Tim Toulmin

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355 Textphone for deaf and hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 email: complaints@pcc.org.uk web site: www.pcc.org.uk

