For Distribution to CPs

Press Complaints Commission

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Professor The Lord Chan
Edmund Curran
Paul Dacre
Jane Ennis
Mary Francis
Dr. Arthur Hearnden
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Paul Horrocks
Charles McGhee

Dianne Thompson The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Director

Professor Robert Pinker Eve Salomon

From the Chairman

5 April 2004

Clive Soley MP House of Commons London SW1A 0AA

Dear Mr. Loley

Thank you for your letter of 24th March, enclosing a copy of your previous letter of 12th January which I had not in fact received.

It is a shame that we did not actually receive your letter in January, because the Code of Practice Committee is just in the finishing stages of carrying out a comprehensive review of the Code. That said, if I understand correctly the import of your Point of Order, clause 11of the current Code of Practice forbids obtaining information by subterfuge, unless there is a clear public interest. I do not expect that to change in the revised version of the Code.

As the content of the Code is not a matter for the Commission itself, I have forwarded your letter to the secretary of the Code of Practice Committee so that your suggestion can be considered at its next meeting.

With kind regards.

histophen

Sir Christopher Meyer

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355 Textphone for deaf and hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 email: complaints@pcc.org.uk web site: www.pcc.org.uk

