Press Complaints Commission

From the Chairman

Commissioner Viviane Reding European Commission 7/45 rue van Maerlant 2 B-1040 Brussels Belguim

6th October 2004

Members of the Commission Matti Alderson Roger Alton Professor The Lord Chan Edmund Curran Paul Dacre Jane Ennis Mary Francis Dr. Arthur Hearnden Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Paul Horrocks Charles McGhee Adam Phillips Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

> Director Tim Toulmin

Chairman Sir Christopher Mever

Jean Comprissioner,

I was very pleased to see that you are to be the new Commissioner for Information Society and the Media. Many congratulations on your appointment.

I am writing to see whether we might have a meeting in the near future. In my role as chairman of the Press Complaints Commission – the organisation which oversees the self-regulation of newspapers and magazines in the United Kingdom – I have noticed that the number of European initiatives, which potentially impact on the regulation of the media, seems to be increasing. I believe it to be enormously important that legislators and policy makers are fully aware of how bodies like the PCC function and how they can deliver high professional standards in journalism, while at the same time preserving freedom of expression.

Previous Directives have allowed Member States to rely on self-regulation mechanisms like ours to deliver the required standards. I hope that this can continue. I would warmly welcome the opportunity to talk all this through with you and your team. Would it be possible to arrange a meeting before the end of this year or early next? My office will be in touch with yours in a few days time.

Yours brucerely, Anistopha Meyer

Sir Christopher Meyer

bec to John Grant CMG

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355 Textphone for deaf and hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 email: complaints@pcc.org.uk web site: www.pcc.org.uk

