For Distribution to CPs

Press Complaints Commission

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Professor The Lord Chan
Edmund Curran
Paul Dacre
Jane Ennis
Mary Francis CBE
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Paul Horrocks
Charles McGhee
Adam Phillips

The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB

Eve Salomon

Dianne Thompson

From the Director

1 September 2005

Professor Al Aynsley-Green Children's Commissioner 1G Caxton House Tothill Street London SW19 9NA

bran birkeren August- proop

Thank you for your letter of 31st August addressed to Sir Christopher Meyer.

The chairman is currently out of the country. I am sure that he will wish to reply to you fully on his return. In the meantime, it would be helpful if you could send us some examples of the 'very high percentage of media stories that demonise, if not vilify, the existence of children and young people in our society'. It is certainly an extraordinary claim.

Representatives of the PCC will be attending the meeting on the 15th September with Ofcom, so it would be helpful to have the information by then.

With kind regards.

Tim Toulmin

No.