## For Distribution to CPs

From the Chairman

67.73

PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION

480 483

10 J

28<sup>th</sup> June 2007

Rt Hon James Purnell MP Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport 2-4 Cockspur Street London SW1Y 5DH

In m. Winey

It was a pleasure to meet you recently at the News Corporation party, and I was very pleased to see that you had been appointed Secretary of State. Many congratulations.

The PCC has been grateful for the government's support for press self-regulation over the years, something that we hope will continue. There are currently a number of challenges for media regulators posed by new technologies and convergence. We think that the PCC's structure and approach – flexibility, independence, the co-operation of the regulated industry, and the application of principles rather than prescriptive rules - are well suited to the new landscape.

We have also entrenched several reforms to the PCC over the last few years in order to guarantee transparency and accountability, which I hope has led to greater trust in the Commission's work.

I would welcome the opportunity to brief you on these issues and also to hear your own views. I know you will be very busy but I wonder whether you – and any of your officials or ministerial colleagues, if appropriate – might be free some time in the autumn for a private dinner with me and the Commission's Director, Tim Toulmin. It would be excellent if someone from your office could be in touch with my PA, Kim Baxter, to sort out a suitable date. Her direct line is 020 7438 1242 and her e-mail address is kim.baxter@pcc.org.uk.

With kind regards.

Sir Christopher Meyer

Halton House, 20/23 Holborn, London EC1N 2JD T: 020 7831 0022 F: 020 7831 0025 E: complaints@pcc.org.uk Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7831 0123 www.pcc.org.uk CHAIRMAN Sir Christopher Meyer

MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION Matti Alderson Roger Alton Paul Dacre Spencer Feenev Colleen Harris MVO, FRSA Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Simon Irwin Ian Nichol Adam Phillips Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson CBE Derek Tucker The Right Rev John Waine KCVO Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB DIRECTOR Tim Toulmir

MOD100039524