For Distribution to CPs

PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION

From the Chairman

25 September 2007

Howell James CBE
Permanent Secretary
Government Communications
Cabinet Office
70 Whitehall
London SW1A 2AS

Hear Howell,

I am writing to follow up a suggestion you very helpfully made at a meeting we had earlier in the year, concerning how the PCC can make its work better known in Whitehall. One of your ideas was for someone from here — either Tim or me—to come to chat to the monthly gathering of departmental Directors of Communications. If I recall correctly, I think you suggested we should get in touch with you in the autumn to see if there was any interest in taking this forward.

Could you let me know whether this might still be appropriate? There have been a number of interesting developments this year which would lend themselves to good case studies.

I look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards.

CHAIRMAN Sir Christopher Meye

MEMBERS OF THE
COMMISSION
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Paul Dacre
Spencer Feeney
Colleen Harris MVO, FRSA
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Simon Irwin
Ian Nichol
Esther Roberton
Eve Salomon

Dianne Thompson CBE Derek Tucker

The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB

DIRECTOR

Sir Christopher Meve

Halton House, 20/23 Holborn, London EC1N 2JD T: 020 7831 0022 F: 020 7831 0025 E: complaints@pcc.org.uk Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7831 0123 www.pcc.org.uk

