Press Complaints Commission

From the Director

17 May 2004

John Dunne Acting Editor Ham&High 100a Avenue Road Hampstead London NW3 3H Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission Matti Alderson Roger Alton Professor The Lord Chan Edmund Curran Paul Dacre Jane Ennis Mary Francis Dr. Arthur Hearnden Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Paul Horrocks Charles McGhee Professor Robert Pinker Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

Director Tim Toulmin

Dear Sir

FOR CONSIDERATION FOR PUBLICATION

Geoffrey Bindman's review of Joshua Rozenberg's book on privacy (May 7th) claims that the Press Complaints Commission is a body "composed largely of journalists", and as such lacks public confidence. It would be a shame if this inaccuracy put anyone off complaining to the Commission. There are no journalists at all on the PCC's full time staff, while the 10 lay people on the board of the Commission clearly outnumber the 7 editors.

Yours faithfully

į

Tim Toulmin

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355 Textphone for deaf and hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 email: complaints@pcc.org.uk web site: www.pcc.org.uk

