## For Distribution to CPs

## **Press Complaints Commission**

Chairman Sir Christopher Mever

Members of the Commission
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Professor The Lord Chan
Edmund Curran
Paul Dacre
Jane Ennis
Mary Francis
Dr. Arthur Hearnden
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Paul Horrocks

Charles McGhee Adam Phillips Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson The Right Rev. John Waine Kcvo

> *Director* Tim Toulmin

From the Director

04 October 2004

CMP Bush Esq Headmaster's House Eastbourne College Old Wish Road Eastbourne East Sussex BN21 4JX

Jeng. m. Bush.

I am just writing following a conversation that I had recently with Mrs Justice Rafferty.

I understand that you may have spoken to her about an initiative between the judiciary, the press and the Press Complaints Commission which is aimed at fostering a better mutual understanding. Mrs Justice Rafferty suggested that it might be a good idea for the PCC to undertake a similar dialogue with school heads – particularly in light of the strong protection that the Code of Practice affords to children. If you thought that it might be helpful – and I certainly welcome the proposal – then please do give me a ring so that we could discuss the mechanics. The direct line to my office is 020 74276272.

I look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards.

Tim Toulmin

fre Commis