## For Distribution to CPs

## **Press Complaints Commission**

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Professor The Lord Chan
Edmund Curran
Paul Dacre
Jane Ennis
Mary Francis
Dr. Arthur Hearnden
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Paul Horrocks
Charles McGhee
Adam Phillips

Dianne Thompson The Right Rev. John Waine Kcvo

Eve Salomon

Director

From the Director

Brian H. Donohoe Esq MP House of Commons London SW1A 0AA

21st March 2005

no Sia

Thank you for your letter of 4<sup>th</sup> March. It was good to hear from you.

It is difficult for the Commission to send out general reminders to every member of the newspaper and magazine industry about the coverage of such issues. This is not only for obvious practical reasons, but also because the very purpose of the industry's Code of Practice – Clause 1 of which concerns accuracy – is to provide a clear set of rules with regard to which editors can themselves make decisions without recourse to specific guidance.

However, should you or your constituent wish to raise a complaint about a particular article, relating to descriptions of legal or illegal gun ownership, we would – of course – be happy to look at it further. I enclose copies of our complaints literature, which I hope will be useful.

With kind regards.

100-

Tim Toulmin

fast free fair res complaints commission