Press Complaints Commission

Jert L UNS Chairman Roft-ellichismaChristopher Meyer

From the Director

Sadiq Khan Esq MP House of Commons London SW1A 0AA

13 May 2005

Members of the Commission Matti Alderson Roger Alton Professor The Lord Chan Edmund Curran Paul Dacre Jane Ennis Mary Francis Dr. Arthur Hearnden Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Paul Horrocks Charles McGhee Adam Phillips Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

> Director Tim Toulmin

a ho the

Please accept my warm congratulations on your election to Parliament.

I am sorry to add to what must be a bulging in-tray following your success, but I am just writing with some information about the Press Complaints Commission, which may be of interest to you. As you may know, the PCC – which is independently-run – takes complaints under the press Code of Practice about the editorial content of newspapers and magazines, and offers advice to people who are concerned about the manner in which news is gathered. It is our job to ensure that any inaccuracies or intrusions in the press are remedied in a proportionate and sensible way.

I thought having some information about us might be useful to you – for your own interest, in case you ever have need to use our service, and also in the event that a constituent approaches you for help in complaining about a newspaper report which concerns them.

Do let me know if you would like any more information, or further copies of our literature.

With kind regards.

Jos sincer

Tim Toulmin

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355 Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 e.mail: complaints@pcc.org.uk website: www.pcc.org.uk



MOD100042436