

HOUSE OF COMMONS LONDON SW1A 0AA

ALL-PARTY PARLIAMENTARY INQUIRY INTO ANTISEMITISM

CHAIRMAN

Rt Hon Dr Denis MacShane MP

MITTEE

Rt Hon Kevin Barron MP
Tim Boswell MP
Rt Hon David Curry MP
Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP
Rt Hon Bruce George MP
Lady Sylvia Hermon MP
Chris Huhne MP
Daniel Kawcynski MP
Barbara Keeley MP
Khalid Mahmood MP
Rt Hon John Spellar MP
Theresa Villiers MP

SECRETARIAT

Sadie Smith Jo White

ADDRESS

Room 223 1 Parliament Street House of Commons Westminster London SW1P 3AG

020 7219 8345

info@thepcaa.org www.thepcaa.org Tim Toulmin

Press Complaints Commission

1 Salisbury Square

London EC4Y 8JB

Friday 2 December 2005

Dear Mr Toulmin,

I am writing to you on behalf of the All-Party Parliamentary Inquiry into Antisemitism to request a written submission for the purposes of our investigation.

The Inquiry has been launched in response to evidence that British Jews are living in a state of fear and discomfort as a result of a perceptible rise in antisemitism.

It is important that all relevant institutions and organisations provide us with their analyses in order that the Inquiry panel can be fully briefed on the situation and make responsible recommendations to Parliament. We will be investigating the nature of contemporary antisemitism, evaluating current efforts to confront it, and will consider further measures that can be usefully introduced.

Please note the deadline for submissions is 9th January 2006.

Should you wish to discuss your submission or issues relating to this letter, please contact the Inquiry Secretariat at smithsk@parliament.uk.

Yours sincerely,

Rt Hon Dr Denis MacShane MP Chairman



HOUSE OF COMMONS

LONDON SW1A 0AA

ALL-PARTY PARLIAMENTARY INQUIRY INTO ANTISEMITISM IN THE UK

CALL FOR PAPERS

John Mann MP, Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee Against Antisemitism has commissioned a parliamentary Inquiry into antisemitism in the UK. The Inquiry will consider evidence on the nature of contemporary antisemitism, evaluate current efforts to confront it, and consider further measures that might usefully be introduced. The Inquiry will be chaired by the former Minister for Europe, **Rt Hon Dr Denis MacShane MP** and will include:

Rt Hon Kevin Barron MP (Lab) Tim Boswell MP (Con) Rt Hon David Curry MP (Con) Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP (Con) Rt Hon Bruce George MP (Lab) Lady Sylvia Hermon MP (UUP)

Chris Huhne MP (Lib Dem)
Daniel Kawczynski MP (Con)
Barbara Keeley MP (Lab)
Khalid Mahmood MP (Lab)
Rt Hon John Spellar MP (Lab)
Theresa Villiers MP (Con)

The Inquiry is seeking written submissions of no more than 2,000 words from interested parties, before taking oral evidence. Organisations and individuals wishing to make written submissions are invited to do so by 9th January 2006. Each submission should include the name and postal address of the individual or organisation and state whether it has been prepared specifically for the Inquiry. Where submitted by an organisation rather than an individual, the submission should briefly explain the nature and membership of the organisation. Oral evidence will be taken in Parliament, beginning in January 2006. A report is expected to be published in the spring.

Submissions should be sent to the Clerk of the Inquiry at the address below. If possible, please supply an electronic version in MS Word by email. Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at http://www.thepcaa.org

Antisemitism Inquiry

Room 223 1 Parliament Street Westminster SW1P 3AG Telephone: 020 7935 8078 Facsimile: 020 7486 8125 Email: info@thepcaa.org