Press Complaints Commission

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Professor The Lord Chan
Edmund Curran
Paul Dacre
Jane Ennis
Mary Francis
Dr. Arthur Hearnden
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Paul Horrocks
Charles McGhee
Adam Phillips
Eve Salomon
Dianne Thompson

The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

Director Tim Toulmin

From the Chairman

15 December 2004

Richard Thomas Esq Information Commissioner Wycliffe House Water Lane Wilmslow Cheshire SK9 5AF

Jean Richard,

Thank you for your letter of 8th December.

I have asked Tim to resurrect the Guidance Note and to consult Phil Jones – and take final comments from the industry – before putting a draft to the Commission for approval in February. It goes without saying that the Commission cannot condone criminal behaviour, and if the note raises awareness about what journalists must do to comply with the Act then that will be most welcome.

We shall be in touch again soon. I look forward to seeing you in Wilmslow early in the New Year.

With kind regards.

fours ever,

Sir Christopher Meyer

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355

Textphone for deaf and hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264 email: complaints@pcc.org.uk web site: www.pcc.org.uk

