## For Distribution to CPs

**EMBARGO: IMMEDIATE 04.03.08** 

## MACGREGOR AND WEAVER APPOINTED TO PCC AS DACRE LEAVES TO HEAD CODE COMMITTEE

Sir Christopher Meyer, Chairman of the Press Complaints Commission, has announced the appointment of two national newspaper editors to the board of the PCC. Ian MacGregor, editor of the Sunday Telegraph, will join the board immediately to fill the vacancy caused by the retirement of Roger Alton, former editor of the Observer. Tina Weaver, editor of the Sunday Mirror, will join the Commission shortly following Paul Dacre's appointment to chair the Editors' Code of Practice Committee.

#### Sir Christopher said:

"While the PCC is independently-run and has a majority of lay members on its board, it is essential for its credibility within the industry — and for the quality of our rulings — that editors take part in the system. I am therefore very pleased that two people as well-regarded in the press as Ian MacGregor and Tina Weaver have been appointed to the Commission. Between them they have great experience of different parts of the press, something which will help keep our adjudications well-informed and relevant in the era of media convergence.

"I would also like to thank Paul Dacre on behalf of everyone at the PCC for his invaluable contribution to self-regulation over the last few years. I wish him well chairing the Code of Practice Committee."

lan MacGregor said: ""I am honoured to become an editorialmember of the Press Complaints Commission. The PCC does a first class job both in balancing the freedom of the press with the rights of the public, and in providing a quick and efficient system for sorting out complaints. I am keen to playmy full part in the continuing success story of effective self regulation."

Tina Weaver said: "The PCC plays a crucial role in protecting the free voice of the media and the rights of the individual. It has proved itself as a fast, free and effective regulator of the newspaper and magazine industry and I am delighted to be joining as a commissioner to help continue its excellent work"

### **ENDS**

#### Notes

- 1. There are 17 members of the PCC, ten of whom the clear majority are independent of the press. There are 3 national newspaper editors, 2 regional editors, 1 magazine editor and 1 representative of the Scottish press on the Commission. Editorial members are nominated by their respective trade bodies but formally appointed by the Commission's independent Appointments Commission.
- 2. Current members of the Appointments Commission are Sir Christopher Meyer (who chairs it); Sir David Clementi; Andrew Phillips; and Tim Bowdler CBE. There is currently one vacancy.
- 3. Ian MacGregor has been Editor of The Sunday Telegraph since September 2007. From September 2006 he was deputy editor of The Daily Telegraph, prior to which he was Deputy Editor of London's Evening Standard for 4 years. He was Editor of the Scottish Daily Mail for 18 months before joining the Evening Standard, and launch editor of Metro, the free daily newspaper. He began his Fleet Street career on the Daily Express as education correspondent and then spent 18 months in America as New York correspondent.

# For Distribution to CPs

4. Tina Weaver has been Editor of the Sunday Mirror for 7 years. Previously, she was Deputy Editor of the Mirror between 1997 and 2001, where she launched M magazine. Before that she held the post of Assistant Editor (Features) between 1995 and 1997. She joined Mirror Group newspapers early in her career, and was a reporter at The People from 1989 to 1992 and at the Daily Mirror from 1992 to 1993. She joined the now defunct Today where she was named Reporter of the Year in 1993 and was made Features Editor. Tina began her journalistic career at South West News Service.

5. For more information, please contact Tim Toulmin on 020 7831 0022.

4 March 2008