For Distribution to CPs

NEW APPOINTMENTS AT THE PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION

- · Simon Sapper appointed to PCC board;
- · Stephen Abell made PCC Deputy Director.

Simon Sapper, Assistant Secretary of the Communication Workers' Union, has been appointed to the board of the Press Complaints Commission. Announcing the appointment – which follows the retirement from the Commission of Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson and is effective immediately – PCC Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer said:

"I have no doubt that Simon will be an outstanding member of the Commission, and add an interesting and important new perspective to our work. I am very pleased to welcome him on board. I would also like to thank Nick Wilkinson for all his work and dedication to the PCC over the last three years".

Simon Sapper said:

"I am looking forward to helping the Commission be as representative and effective as possible as it deals with well established but resurgent issues like privacy and the challenges of new media. I have already been impressed by the quality of the PCC's output and organisation".

PCC Director Tim Toulmin has also announced new appointments within the Commission's full time staff. Stephen Abell – formerly one of two Assistant Directors along with William Gore – is promoted to Deputy Director, while Gore becomes Public Affairs Director.

ENDS

Notes

- 1. Public, or 'lay', members of the Commission are appointed by an independent Appointments Commission, following public advertisement and interview. Members of the Appointments Commission are Sir Christopher Meyer (who chairs it); Lord Evans of Temple Guiting; Sir David Clementi; Andrew Phillips and Tim Bowdler CBE.
- 2. There are seventeen members of the Commission. Ten members including the Chairman are lay Commissioners who have no connection to the industry, while seven are drawn from among the ranks of senior editors in the national and regional press, and from periodicals.
- 3. The Appointments Commission has also extended the terms of office of Bishop John Waine and Vivien Hepworth to July 31st 2009 and December 31st 2009 respectively.
- 4. For more information, contact Tim Toulmin on 020 7831 0022.

27 August 2008