For Distribution to CPs

John Home Robertson appointed to the PCC

Sir Christopher Meyer, Chairman of the Press Complaints Commission, has announced the appointment to its board of John Home Robertson. Mr Home Robertson - a former MP and MSP with interests in farming and overseas aid - joins the Commission immediately following the retirement of Dianne Thompson, the Chief Executive of Camelot plc.

Sir Christopher said:

"It is essential for the integrity and success of the PCC that its board includes independent-minded lay Commissioners who will speak up for the rights of members of the public. In my view, John Home Robertson - with a long and distinguished record of serving the public - will fulfill this role admirably. I am very pleased that he is joining us.

At the same time, I would like to thank Dianne Thompson for her magnificent contribution to the PCC over nearly six years, and to wish her well for the future".

John Home Robertson said:

"Everybody is entitled to the protection of the PCC Code, and I am looking forward to helping the Commission to address people's complaints - I have some experience of working for citizens as a former MP and MSP.

Self regulation is the best way to tackle problems in our free press, and the PCC can positively promote higher standards too. I'm delighted to be taking up this appointment".

ENDS

NOTES:

- 1. Public, or 'lay', members of the Commission are appointed by an independent Appointments Commission, following public advertisement and interview. Members of the Appointments Commission are Sir Christopher Meyer (who chairs it); Lord Evans of Temple Guiting; Sir David Clementi; Andrew Phillips and Tim Bowdler CBE.
- 2. There are seventeen members of the Commission. Ten members including the Chairman are lay Commissioners who have no connection to the industry, while seven are drawn from among the ranks of senior editors in the national and regional press, and from periodicals.
- 3. John Home Robertson was a Labour MP for 23 years from 1978 to 2001, during which time he held a number of posts including the membership of two Select Committees. He was a member of the Scottish Parliament from 1999 to 2007 and was Deputy Minister for Rural Affairs in the Scottish Executive between 1999-2000. He is the founder of the Paxton Trust.
- 4. For more information, please contact Tim Toulmin on 020 7831 0022.

1 October 2008