For Distribution to CPs

Salmond to open 9th AIPCE Annual Conference

The First Minister of Scotland, The Rt Hon Alex Salmond MSP, will formally open the 9th annual meeting of the Alliance of Independent Press Councils of Europe (AIPCE) on the morning of Thursday 20th September. He will join Sir Christopher Meyer, Chairman of the UK Press Complaints Commission, in addressing the conference – which is being held in Edinburgh for the first time in its history.

The conference is the most significant annual event for European press regulators. Delegates representing media bodies and press councils from around 25 countries will be meeting over two days to discuss key issues such as media convergence and regulation in the digital age, privacy, newsgathering methods and freedom of expression. The conference will hear about developments in the European Commission's thinking from Adam Watson Brown.

There will also be observers from media councils in non-European countries such as Peru, Sri Lanka and Zambia.

A formal dinner sponsored by Johnston Press - attended by delegates as well as Scottish media and political figures - will be held on Thursday 20th September at the Signet Library.

Further information: Catherine Speller, Communications Officer, Telephone: 020 7831 0022; Mobile: 07977 573 321 Email: catherine.speller@pcc.org.uk

ENDS

Notes for editors:

- 1. The Press Complaints Commission is an independent body which deals with complaints from the public about the editorial content of newspapers and magazines and their websites. More information about the PCC including details of resolved and adjudicated complaints can be found on its website: www.pcc.org.uk.
- 2. More information about Press Councils worldwide can be found at http://www.media-accountability.org/.
- 3. The First Minister will make his remarks at 9.15am on Thursday 20th September. If you wish to attend this opening session please email catherine.speller@pcc.org.uk Anyone wishing to attend will need to arrive by 9am.
- 4. Sir Christopher Meyer is available for interviews during the conference. To request an interview, please contact Catherine Speller on the contact details above.
- 5. The full list of countries participating in the conference is: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Kosovo, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, UK, Ukraine, and Zambia.

18 September 2007