For Distribution to CPs

THE PRESS STANDARDS BOARD OF FINANCE LIMITED Editors' Code of Practice Committee

CHAIRMAN: LES HINTON Embargo: For release at 6-00pm, Monday 10 December 2007

PRESS INFORMATION

Editors' Committee's review of the Code

The Editors' Code of Practice Committee, which writes and revises the voluntary code of standards overseen by the Press Complaints Commission, is undertaking its annual review of the Code.

It welcomes suggestions from the public, civil society and the industry on how the Code might be revised to improve the system of self-regulation of the press, of which it is an essential component. Suggestions should be sent as soon as possible, but no later than 31 January, 2008 to:

Ian Beales Editors' Code Committee Secretary PO Box 235 Stonehouse Glos GL10 3UF. Or by email to: ianbeales@mac.com

Note for Editors:

• The Editors' Code committee members are: Leslie Hinton, chairman; Neil Benson, Trinity Mirror's regional newspapers; Adrian Faber, Express and Star, Wolverhampton; Mike Gilson, The Scotsman; Douglas Melloy, Rotherham and South Yorkshire Advertiser; Ian Murray, Southern Evening Echo; David Pollington, The Sunday Post; Jonathan Grun, Press Association; Alan Rusbridger, The Guardian; Neil Wallis, News of the World; Harriet Wilson, Conde Nast magazines; John Witherow, Sunday Times; and Peter Wright, The Mail On Sunday.

