## For Distribution to CPs

## THE PRESS STANDARDS BOARD OF FINANCE

## **Editors' Code of Practice Committee**

**CHAIRMAN: Paul Dacre** 

SECRETARY: Ian Beales, PO Box 235, Stonehouse GL10 3UF

www.editorscode.org.uk

12 August 2009

Embargo: For immediate release

**PRESS INFORMATION** 

## Hannah Walker joins Editors' Code Committee

Hannah Walker, Editor-in-chief of the South London Press, is to join the Editors' Code of Practice Committee, which reviews the voluntary code of standards overseen by the Press Complaints Commission.

She was nominated by the Newspaper Society, representing the regional press, to replace Mike Gilson, former editor of The Scotsman, who has resigned.

Code committee Chairman Paul Dacre, Editor of the Daily Mail and Editor-in-chief of Associated Newspapers, said: "The Committee's strength lies in the very high quality of its members, drawn from across the British press. We are very pleased to welcome Hannah Walker, whose experience in the regional newspaper industry, both in South London and elsewhere, will be an asset."

Another vacancy has occurred following the resignation of Neil Wallis, former Executive Editor of the News of the World. His replacement on the committee will be announced in due course.

The other Code Committee members are: Chairman: Paul Dacre; Neil Benson, Trinity Mirror Regional Newspapers; Adrian Faber, Express and Star, Wolverhampton; Jonathan Grun, Press Association; Douglas Melloy, Rotherham and South Yorkshire Advertiser; Ian Murray, Southern Evening Echo; June Smith-Sheppard, Pick Me Up magazine; Alan Rusbridger, The Guardian: David Pollington, The Sunday Post; Harriet Wilson, Conde-Nast Publications; and John Witherow, Sunday Times.

For further information contact: Code committee secretary Ian Beales: 01453 860577. (Mobile: 0771 577 0400).